I love the smell of new blogs in the afternoon. That is, quite possibly why I have so many Social Media accounts.

I wavered a bit when I was trying to decide on the topic for my First Official Blog Post. It’s a big decision, this could make or break this particular habit, and it sets the theme for the entire blog moving forward! I feel as though I’ve got an ACME anvil labeled “CRITICAL FAILURE”hanging above my head, swinging back and forth on some industrial rope. I almost played it safe, reported first with a review of one of my favorite books, or made a short introductory post saying: “Hi, I’m Kit, this is my blog, I like kittens and old cartoons! I might post the occasional movie or book review, and I’ll post updates on my current novel! Let’s embark on this journey together! Namaste!” but I decided that was better suited for the about page.

So, at length and great loss to my fingernails, which have been reduced to stumps, I went with the obvious first question.

“What’s with the title?”

I’m glad that you asked!

As you may have guessed, the title for this blog is a play off of the popular term “The Whole Kit and Caboodle.” But I bet that you haven’t guessed why I chose that instead of something pertaining to my other social media sites (which, spoiler alert, all involve the color red).

About the saying itself. “The whole kit and caboodle.” People nowadays take it to mean a collection of items, or a set of things. This matches up nicely with the meaning of both words, where “kit” means a set of objects, and a “caboodle” is a group or collection, could be people and could be pens. I’ve heard many a variation on the saying, but the one I’ve always liked is the original. People tend to take out the word “whole” to make the saying “the kit and caboodle”which is fine, but it doesn’t have the same ring to it. You know what it means, but what if it’s only half of a kit and one third of a caboodle? I’d like the whole thing, please and thank you. My grandmother says “The whole kit and boodle” which just sounds odd to me. You’re missing half of a word, grandma, but you’ve lived a long time, I’m not going to try to tell you that the saying isn’t actually “don’t beat a dead horse to death.”

Either way, I go with the original. It’s nice, it flows, and it has the added bonus of the word caboodle completely changing meaning, so when people google it, they get pictures of those 90s pencil cases that just took up space.

So when I came up with the title for this blog, I knew I wanted to incorporate that saying. I didn’t want to limit myself to just one kit or caboodle, though, so I changed the word caboodle to my third favorite word (After implode and scarlet). “Conglomerate” by definition, is “a number of different things grouped together to form a whole but remain distinct entities.” As I don’t want to shoehorn this blog into being about just one thing, “conglomerate” seemed to fit pretty well.

And Thus The Whole Kit And Conglomerate Was Born.

-Kit

