I should preface this by saying that I do a fair amount of traveling, and that I first discovered this book in the Tattered Cover in DIA… and passed it up entirely. I read the blurb, I read the first chapter, I did just about everything that a “good” reader is supposed to do when first trying to decide whether or not to buy a book, short of looking it up on Goodreads and reading the reviews. Let me just say, I am unquestionably glad that I didn’t read any reviews. 

But at the time, I was short on time (my flight was leaving) I was short on cash (I was maybe 14 years old and determined to save my money in the event that the plane went down and I needed to find the only cab that took US dollars) and I was alone. So I told myself I’d rent it from the library when I got home, but I forgot. The title stayed with me, as did the intriguing summary on the back.

But when Black Friday rolled around, I found it on B&N.com while standing in a B&N, annoyed that the trilogy wasn’t in stock in boxed set format, and using the online discount paired with the Black Friday discount to get the entire thing for ten bucks plus shipping.

I finished FEED by Mira Grant (aka Seanan McGuire, who writes incredible books, and who I didn’t realize was the author until page 468, at which point I felt like a terrible fan) in two sittings. This morning found me mainly in tears as the book concluded, and I have only barely achieved enough brain power to write a coherent review, instead of “OH MY GOD READ IT, CRY WITH ME” until wordpress makes me stop.

FEED, the first novel of the Newsflesh trilogy, follows George and Shaun Mason, a pair of journalists as they follow a presidential campaign approximately 20 years after the Rising, which is McGuire’s scientifically plausible version of a Zombie Apocalypse. Bloggers are heroes in thus world. They are unbiased mediators and the only source of news thaf anybody trusts, split into three categories: Newsies (those who report the news), Irwins (those who go out and irritate Zombies for views, i.e., the Steve Iriwns of the Zombie world), and the Fictionals (who make the world better one poem or story at a time).

The premise of news reporters vs the Zombie Apocalypse caught my eye and the idea of  bloggers vs The Zombie Apocalypse is obviously very appealing to me! I’m not going to say anything more, at risk of spoiling the plot, but I do have to saythat despite the potentially daunting size of the novel, and the genre itself, it’s a quick read (well, it’s a sit-down-and-read-until-you’re-finished read).

Now, I’m a bit of a horror buff, and I know all of the tropes by heart, so while this doesn’t subvert every trope aligned with a Zombie/horror novel, it certainly seems to enjoy flaunting the rules and doing what it likes. We all know the rise and fall of the plotlines and the stories and how things go, and I have to day that the only thing that I got right happened about halfway through, and the restof the novel kept me on my toes! It’s an incredible read, and while I’ve already presented myself as being biased in regard to Seanan McGuire and her pen name, Mira Grant, it is not for nothing. Her prose flows effortlessly and even without the necessary suspension of disbelief, the story holds its own well enough to actually be a plausible universe. McGuire did her research well enough to have a terrifyingly realistic Zombie virus, as well as the system of a post-dystopian state that felt like it truly could only be a few years off.

In all this wasn’t a harrowing read, with the horror being the basis of the genre, but rather it seemed to be a novel about surviving the odds, the love of one’s family (chosen or otherwise) and the catalyst of the world that the characters lived in simply happened to involve a Zombie virus.

My only complaint is that I forgot the sequel at home!

In all, this was a wonderful read and I wish to thank “Mira Grant” for providing us with it.

